Wednesday, April 26, 2006

Low Budget Movie

You know, being trapped at this forsaken place...really feels forsaken...So gotta unwind sometimes, though if it is at the expense of doing it all by yourself. Such was my mood yesterday 25th of April, so I decided to go catch myself a movie right after my work. And I decided on UltraViolet.

Big mistake. It has so much in common with Aeon Flux..Both are Female Warriors. Both got lousy story lines.Both got no idea what the hell are they fighting for until later part of the stage. Both got some cool techno effects flying all over the place. Both women are part of some ressitance rebellious team on some mission, which turns against them. Both also seeking vengeance over someone they have lost. In the end both also found revelation and ended the world from falling into the traps over evil doers. Bravo Bravo

But honestly I prefer Mila than Charlize... I mean she is more of an action star compared to Charlize. I mean the last good movie of Charlize I recall watching was Bad Boys 1. I am pretty sure I have watched several others but simply couldn't recall with much booze in my head. But Mila is classy. Remember Resident Evil...That should give a visual I guess.

Nevertheless I didnt enjoy the movie. Neither of them. Seeing every bit of UV only reminded me of Aeon, thus gone my little expedition to the world of carefree. And I think Mila performed better in Resident Evil. She kinda sucks when she talks too much. In fact she doesn't have the cool female killer kinda geek running with her. She looked way cooler in Resident Evil. Everything she says hits the moment perfectly. But in UV...it sort of couldn't bring the situation together. Like this one scene when she said " I am gonna kill you all". Imagination may make it sound nicer, but there was something missing when she said it thus failed to invoke thoise electrifying feeling in us.

Bottom line is that I felt that this movies are made by non pro. Oh and also besides John Woo, and M.Night Syamalan never let any Asian Men to direct or produce an English movie. They put in too much their own movie gimmicks that makes it so obvious who the hell was the mastermind. Again no offense but it simply doesnt work that way. I think if the mastermind would have been a westerner, The movie could have been better, especially with the effects. No funny kung fu moves with motorbikes. My thought as I was watching is that the movie is a low budget movie, with bunch of young adults who are good with CGI techniques, under paid as long as they can produce something that looks cooler. Technology aspects have expanded so much that now any one at their teens could do cool gicks with CGI. You get bunch of guys and girls who are good at the effects and stuffs and who are trying so hard to make their first break and manipulate them...Evil but effective.

Well I guess enough said about the movie. Don't get me wrong, not everything was bad about the movie. I liked UV's sword, the portable phone - no sim card or anything, swipe credit card and a portable mobile appears. Thats a neat idea. And the best that caught my attention was the quote " as beautiful as these things are at the moment, they are all evil when they are gone". Now thats deep.

Can you hear it, the echoes of realmz....